Search Deepinradio Blog

Tuesday, 7 October 2014

Various Artists - Phono Obscura

    Lock Smith - ''Wouldn't You''
    The Bystanders feat. Mount Sims & Linda Lamb - ''History Is Not Shrinking (Reverse Commuter's Lesson In Lies Mix)''
    J. Alvarez - ''Strut''
    Terry Francis feat. Ricardo - ''Together''
    Ulysses - ''Dance Gravity''
    Reverse Commuter feat. Terryn Westbrook - ''New York To Me (Radio Slave Vocal Mix)''
    Oona Dahl & Jonny Cruz - ''Oceans''
    Sunshine Jones - ''The Sun''
    Remi Mazet - ''For Your Love''

Phono Obscura confidently charts the course of Hallucienda, the new imprint that is the evolution of Hallucination Limited, curated and collated by renowned DJ and trusted tastemaker Three. With an eclectic assortment of established names and future candidates from the electronic music globe, Phono Obscura’s nine tracks present a focused vision through artists that balance the need to push envelopes and the desire to fill dance floors. These producers represent the initial Hallucienda family, with future album artists rubbing shoulders with 12“ mercenaries. Opening on Lock Smith’s hypnotically oozing ”Wouldn’t You“, Phono Obscura proposes a dream-zone safe house in between the head space and the bass bin. As one forwards to Reverse Commuter’s ominous remix of ”History Is Not Shrinking“, by The Bystanders in collaboration with Mount Sims and Linda Lamb, and J. Alvarez’s vintage machine funk of ”Strut”, the sound and thematic binding string of Phono Obscura is clear. Other contributions from Wiggle’s Terry Francis, Sunshine Jones of Dubtribe, Radio Slave, Remi Mazet, ├ľona Dahl & Johnny Cruz, and NYC’s Ulysses further cement Phono Obscura’s status as a step above a mere compilation project. There is evidently a lot of thought and strategy in Three’s selection to accurately convey the message of Phono Obscura and its series, as this is just the first of many planned editions.

Label and Artist Links:

No comments:

Post a Comment